ARC Book Review: Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas

Posted February 28, 2014 by Debby in Reviews / 5 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Book Review: Ask Again Later by Liz CzukasAsk Again Later by Liz Czukas
Published by HarperTeen on March 11th, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Parallel Universes, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Despite what her name might suggest, Heart has zero interest in complicated romance. So when her brilliant plan to go to prom with a group of friends is disrupted by two surprise invites, Heart knows there's only one drama-free solution: flip a coin.

Heads: The jock. He might spend all night staring at his ex or throw up in the limo, but how bad can her brother's best friend really be?

Tails: The theater geek...with a secret. What could be better than a guy who shares all Heart's interests--even if he wants to share all his feelings?

Heart's simple coin flip has somehow given her the chance to live out both dates. But where her prom night ends up might be the most surprising thing of all...

4.5 Stars

Pretty much from page 1, I was in love with this book. It’s humorous, it’s fluffy, it has an awesome ship. I spent most of my time reading it with a smile from ear to ear, and I actually read it all in one day. It was just a great and super adorable read. The perfect cure to the disappointing Death Sworn, both of which I coincidentally buddy read with Christina. It truly was unintentional, but whatever, we had a good time.

So Ask Again Later is kind of a parallel universe book in that the main character, Heart, has to choose between two dates to go to prom with. You see the events of both dates, but though parallel universe would hint towards being more sci-fi, this is a total contemporary romance book. Point one that I loved and that surprised me was that it’s not a love triangle. She’s not seriously choosing between two love interests or something. Heart hates romantic drama, and that’s why her original plan was to go with a group of friends. She’s even made it a rule to not date anyone, which was really refreshing.

The actual romance is absolutely adorable. I shipped it from page 12, I’m not even joking. Heart is already an awesome main character. Aside from her dubious outlook on love in high school, she’s full of snark and banter – as are most of her friends. Seriously guys, this book is banter banter banter, which I absolutely adore. That’s why I was sitting there with such a huge ass grin on my face the whole time I was reading it.

But so, the romance. I’m not really going to say who it is, because maybe you don’t want to know; maybe you’d find that a spoiler, but it’s awesome, guys. They have absolutely the best dynamic ever, and I just loved reading their scenes together. He made my heart melt quite a few times. He was pretty much the perfect gentleman. Though he had some reservations, I felt like it fit the story perfectly, and it made him really endearing too. It was really frustrating though how slow burn the romance was. I mean, it was wonderful, but at the same time, I was sitting at the edge of my seat, screaming “NOW KISSSS!!!!!!”

I loved the story because it was extremely true to life. I actually had flashbacks to my prom and other adventures in high school and it was just good feels all around (and my high school experience wasn’t even all that). I just loved not only Heart’s relatable voice but also seeing her relationships with all her friends and everything. ALSO THERE WAS AN AWESOME GAY SHIP. The adventures of the two dates were extremely different but both compelling, and I liked how they intertwined. The thing is: the hook of the two different timelines was kind of unnecessary. Like, I liked both stories, both dates, but I would have loved this book just fine without them.

My only hesitance is that at the end it was a bit confusing. The book alternates chapters between the different dates, which is all manageable enough to follow, until one part, where the storylines start heavily intertwining. Then, each timeline gets a couple paragraphs before switching, and it became really hard to follow which was which – I still didn’t know for sure which date was which side of the coin. I do get, though, that this was entirely the author’s intention, and ultimately I really liked how it ended. It was the nice kind of message about fate that I was expecting.

Summing Up:

This book was adorable and happy and flailworthy and awesome. Just thinking about it has put that massive grin back on my face. I will definitely be getting myself a physical copy of this lovely debut at some point and I am extremely eager to check out Liz Czukas’s other upcoming novels. This exactly the kind of fluff I love and sometimes need to have in my life.

GIF it to me straight!

happy-3

Recommended To:

Fans of Meant To Be, Parallel, Smart Girls Get What They Want, and other fluffy feel good books.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Divider

5 responses to “ARC Book Review: Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas

Leave a Reply to Pili Cancel reply

CommentLuv badge