Top Ten Books If You Like Doctor Who

Posted April 29, 2014 by Debby in Memes, Top Ten Tuesdays / 26 Comments

This is a meme from The Broke and the Bookish. For info about the topics and how to participate, click here.

Initially, when I saw today’s topic, I kind of drew a blank. “Huh. What. *moans* I have to think?” Under the shower I started laughingly thinking of what I could write about if I chose Doctor Who, and guess what, I HAVE FREAKING GLORIOUS IDEAS. So. Doctor Who fans, be prepared. And if you don’t watch Doctor Who… I’m sorry. BUT still read the list, and if enough of your favorite books are on it, maybe you’ll finally make the A+ EXCELLENT LIFE DECISION to become a Whovian.

If you want an action-packed, twisty turny, timey-wimey adventure…

Timey-Wimey_zps404f4428 allouryesterdays

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill remains the best time travel book I’ve read to date. Not only is the plot one that shocks you, much like Doctor Who could, but I really liked the world building and time travel logic. So many books get that wrong or just don’t quite make it, but this one, to me, was solid. It kind of blew my mind.

If you loved the scary vibe & salvage aspect of Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS

tumblr_mlvzqvhR1z1r4n3owo1_500 Avalon

I LOVE Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS for a WHOLE BUNCH OF REASONS (*cough*gratuitousamountsofWhoufflé*cough*) but I have to admit that the episode was also majorly creepy. The TARDIS was a wreck and the “salvage” crew wanted to cut it up… then there were those zombie creature things. And then the ship started to warp. SCARY SCARY SCARY. And in that sense it perfectly matches the vibe and atmosphere of Avalon by Mindee Arnett. Though it’s not my favorite book ever, it was good-creepy and appealed to my sci-fi nerd self.

If you love K-9 and other sci-fi fun things…

tumblr_inline_mhbgcjU51C1qz4rgp Cinder

At a higher level, Doctor Who is just plain sci-fi, so obviously I had to draw some parallel to recommend Cinder by Marissa Meyer. But I love how both capture those classically brilliant things like androids and cyborgs (though those are way different in Doctor Who *cough*). If you like K-9, you’ll probably love Iko, Cinder’s android. Not only is Iko herself super cute, but their relationship is also aww-worthy.

If you loved Oswin’s role in Asylum of the Daleks

tumblr_mavrqpOopP1r5taaq Cress

BUT, if K-9 is not enough to convince you to read The Lunar Chronicles series, and you are a fan of Oswin in Asylum of the Daleks, you definitely want to get to Cress by Marissa Meyer. You’ll love Cress, the character, because she’s just like Oswin in that episode (albeit more naive and less snarky) – she’s a hacker watching over the other characters from afar, helping in whatever way she can. Yeah, that parallel made it into my review of Cress. Not sorry.

If you like feels-exploiting memory twists such as Amy’s in The Big Bang
or Clara’s in The Name of the Doctor


tumblr_mjvm8zTS3q1rzqimpo1_500 Cruel Beauty

Err. This is a more complicated one, because haha OBVIOUSLY Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge is not sci-fi. But I can’t get into either side of this parallel for fear of spoilers. Just feelings in a plot twist. Feeeeeelings.

If you’re a fan of Captain Jack Harkness (and let’s be honest, who isn’t)…

tumblr_static_35a67iq Siege and Storm

If you like Jack, you’ll probably love Sturmhond in Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. I mean, okay, Sturmhond isn’t gay (thank god because I want a slice of that), but he’s also the kind of hilariously charming character that immediately catches your attention and gets you all flustered and giggly. And just like Jack, you learn later that there’s SO MUCH DEPTH to this one guy who you thought was just all charm. Looooove.

If your heart cried out because of Ten/Rose…

Ten-Rose-badwolf-tenth-rose-21263420-500-278 Pivot Point (2)

Parallel worlds can be SO NASTY for getting in the way of OTPs, amirite? But so basically, if Ten/Rose is your OTP, you will probably cry yourself silly because of the most glorious ship in Pivot Point by Kasie West. They will break your heart. And not a Ten/Rose shipper? Neither am I, and Pivot Point is still one of my FAVORITE books ever. Parallel timelines. Seriously. That should be enough.

If you like Doctor Who’s messages about “fixed points in time” or “fate”…

a746827756d9257bd670ff87c7be36ec Parallel

Okay, the time travel logic of Doctor Who is solid to an extent (aka don’t think about it too much), but I really love the idea of the fixed moments in time. Usually, for the Doctor, this is more bad than good – there are moments he just can’t interfere in, and he just has to let certain bad things happen. But on the other hand, it can have a positive fate-like aspect for other characters. That’s what I loved so much about the eventual message of Parallel by Lauren Miller‘s parallel universes. It’s just a beautiful story.

If you liked the Vashta Nerada in Silence in the Library and Forest of the Dead

tumblr_m9hn0vmlyd1qet2teo1_500 Arclight

BEWARE THE SHADOWS. Haha, if you liked that scary Doctor Who monster, you’ll definitely want to check out Arclight by Josin L. McQuein, even though I just read the sequel and was quite disappointed by it. But Arclight is all about shadow monsters. Gotta stay in the light. My fear of the dark was rekindled. Yay creepy!

Finally, if you liked the aesthetic beauty and fun adventures of time traveling
back to Victorian England…


tumblr_mfru4k5Ntm1qchu01o1_500 ruby-red-by-kerstin-gier

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier is just fun fun fun. The characters and the laughter they incite through humorous banter is probably the closest parallel to Doctor Who. A character like Ximerius – I could totally picture him in the Doctor Who universe. But Ruby Red also has time travel and fun short trips to the past. It is very aesthetic, since a lot of emphasis is placed on the characters blending in – so they have to learn about the appropriate clothing and behavior. SO. Yes, I love this series and the goddamn movie because I can’t NOT mention it.

That’s all for me! SO. Do you watch Doctor Who? If not, have I convinced you now?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Divider

26 responses to “Top Ten Books If You Like Doctor Who

  1. Alyssa

    What a great list! Doctor Who + YA books = LOVE. You made awesome book recs and the gifs were pure love.

    Rose Red was awesome and I LOVE the movie!!! I cannot wait for the sequel, I wish I understood German so I could see it quicker.

  2. I remember seeing All Our Yesterdays discounted when it first came out but I never got it, really wish I had now, I’ve heard is fantastic, and the recommendation is more than enough to make me work on getting it and I’m genuinely getting to The Lunar Chronicles this month, I mean it, and I’m so excited about it now.The Grisha Trilogy is hitting my radar more now too, and with the Jack Harness recommendation, it’s much higher, in fact, this entire list is just fantastic and appeals to my Whovian nature, such a good list Debby! 🙂
    Amanda @ Book Badger recently posted Book Review – Keep The FaithMy Profile

  3. Oh my god I LOVE that you went with the different aspects of Doctor Who! It really nails how all encompassing the show is (and why it’s so hard to explain to people why I love it). But can you believe….I’ve only read Ruby Red off this list! *Gasp* At least I know where to head in my TBR next 🙂
    Elizabeth recently posted K-Dramas 101My Profile

    • Exactly! Doctor Who has so much going for it, when I tell people about it and they’re just like, “So it’s nerdy sci-fi about time traveling, um, ew” I just want to cry. It really has something for everyone. 🙂 Hope you enjoy these picks! You should definitely prioritize The Lunar Chronicles, Pivot Point, and All Our Yesterdays 🙂

  4. I’ve read Cruel Beauty, Siege and Storm, Cinder & Cress of course. I also read All our yesterdays. I can’t wait to finally try Pivot Point, especially since I need to read something from Kasie West, right 😉 Parallel sounds really good too!
    Mel@thedailyprophecy recently posted Monthly recap. April.My Profile

    • Awwwwww thank you Kristen 🙂 I could make so many more parallels though, seriously. I love how diverse Doctor Who is. I might do a follow up to this sometime because it was so much fun to make 🙂

  5. I don’t consider myself a Whovian (just yet anyway). I’ve seen Season 1 but it didn’t draw me in – I’ve heard that the first season is the worst one, though, and because so many people seem to love it, I do want to give it another try.

    And this post…I’ve read about half the books, but obviously I can’t speak to your comparisons. But it’s so well done! I like how you really zeroed in on specific aspects of the show and how they can be related to YA books. It definitely makes me want to read the remaining books I haven’t AND watch the show! 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge