ARC Book Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

Posted October 8, 2016 by Debby in Reviews / 4 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Book Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren MorrillMy Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on October 11th, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, you'll love this funny and sweet contemporary romance about a Southern girl ready for a ho-hum summer until she meets the boy of her dreams who happens to be an international pop star.

Sometimes love stories go off script.

Another sultry Georgia summer is about to get a lot hotter. Dee Wilkie is still licking her wounds after getting rejected by the precollege fine arts program of her dreams. But if she'd gone away, she wouldn't have been around to say yes to an unbelievable opportunity: working on the set of a movie filming in her small Southern town that just happens to be starring Milo Ritter, the famous pop star Dee (along with the rest of the world) has had a crush since eighth grade.

It's not like Dee will be sharing any screen time with Milo—she's just a lowly PA. And Milo is so disappointingly rude that Dee is eager to stay far away from him. Except after a few chance meetings, she begins to wonder if just maybe there's a reason for his offensive attitude, and if there's more to Milo than his good looks and above-it-all Hollywood pedigree. Can a relationship with a guy like Milo ever work out for a girl like Dee? Never say never. . .

2.5 Stars

I think I’ve surrendered myself to the fact that I will never not be attracted to a celebrity romance premise. It’s turning out to be kind of a curse, because for the life of me, it seems like I just can’t find one that’s good. Indeed, even My Unscripted Life, written by an author I have loved before, fell short.

This story follows Dee, a high school student who fills up her summer by working as a PA on set of a movie after she got rejected from a precollege fine arts project. There, she meets teen heartthrob Milo Ritter – who she has of course been in love with for years. He’s first rude and distant, but he keeps turning up, and… you can probably guess the rest.

I love contemporary romance, but it’s so frustrating how predictable they can be. Indeed, My Unscripted Life does nothing new. Honestly. Nothing. It tries to have this small hate-to-love dynamic because Milo is UNDERSTANDABLY not the most welcoming or trusting person on set, and that frustrates Dee, but since she says she has been a fan for years you already know that that frustration is wafer thin. Then there’s just so much SENTIMENT, because Dee’s the only person Milo can let his mask down around. And then… she starts proclaiming that he’s her boyfriend after they have just – one – date.

I’m fed up with young and naive main characters like Dee. She was cute at first, but when she started with the boyfriend stuff, it just got completely exasperating. Her voice is so young, she comes off more as a 15 year old than a rising high school senior. And this is a trend I’m seeing all over Morrill’s latest books, which breaks my heart. I absolutely loved Meant to Be, but ever since that killer debut, her books have gotten younger, sillier (not in the good way – in the frustrating way), more naive, more Disney Channel-esque. Little depth, much drama. It makes me think I may just be… done with her books for now. Which absolutely breaks my heart, but this is just not pleasing to me.

On the other hand, if you’re looking for a cute, quick read and you don’t mind not getting a lot of depth, My Unscripted Life may be just what you need. Indeed, it reads unbelievably quickly, and there are cute scenes. Getting a view of what it’s like on a movie set – which I know is authentic because Morrill has been on sets as an extra – is fun, and you could tell those passages really came from her heart. The film industry will always be interesting to me – the dynamics on set, the little known but crucial elements that come into play, and all those people behind the scenes that really make it happen. In that sense, as a quick, cute summer read, this book is quite all right.

Summing Up:

My Unscripted Life sadly wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for. Indeed, it lacked depth, complex characters, and a little maturity. However, if you like quick, cute reads, maybe this is still a good book for you. I just prefer to read books with characters who aren’t so naive to call a dude – an international pop star – her boyfriend after a total of one date.

GIF it to me straight!

Recommended To:

Fans of This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Divider

4 responses to “ARC Book Review: My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill

  1. Valerie Pennington

    I UNDERSTAND. MTB is one of my favorite contemporaries ever (Top 5), but every book since has been so hard to read. BSJ lost the charm of the first book and it was so young/cheesy. TTWD was better but it was just a reiteration of J&J from MTB (in my opinion). I just can’t put my faith in her as an author, but I do intend on still reading her stuff. Because Jason is one of my favorite book boyfriends of all time. I just.. I’m sad. Good review.

  2. We discussed it a bit but I felt the same way and it was so disappointing 🙁 You’ve got it just right: each book has gotten sillier and younger, and not in any sort of good way. The boyfriend comment was so ridiculous. And if a contemporary is going to have every cliche, it better be done perfectly, with amazing characters and so much charm and chemistry that it oozes off the page. Not so here. Maybe I’ll stick to rereading MTB in the future :/
    Morgan @ Gone with the Words recently posted Review: Disenchanted: The Trials of Cinderella by Megan MorrisonMy Profile

Leave a Reply to Morgan @ Gone with the Words Cancel reply

CommentLuv badge