ARC Book Review: This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills

Posted October 4, 2016 by Debby in Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Book Review: This Adventure Ends by Emma MillsThis Adventure Ends by Emma Mills
Published by Henry Holt and Co. on October 4th, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Sloane isn't expecting to fall in with a group of friends when she moves from New York to Florida—especially not a group of friends so intense, so in love, so all-consuming. Yet that's exactly what happens.

Sloane becomes closest to Vera, a social-media star who lights up any room, and Gabe, Vera's twin brother and the most serious person Sloane's ever met. When a beloved painting by the twins' late mother goes missing, Sloane takes on the responsibility of tracking it down, a journey that takes her across state lines—and ever deeper into the twins' lives.

Filled with intense and important friendships, a wonderful warts-and-all family, shiveringly good romantic developments, and sharp, witty dialogue, this story is about finding the people you never knew you needed.

4.5 Stars

I was already a fan of Emma Mills’s first book, First & Then. It was cute and happy and romantic, and so I thought, this is an author I should keep an eye on. I did NOT think that she would level up so supremely for her sophomore title. This Adventure Ends is heartfelt, lovely, and so, so meaningful.

Sloan is a soul friend. I mean this in the sense of the side characters that she befriends, but also because she’s such an understandable and relatable character. Her voice is awesome, and her personality is one that just instantly draws you (and other people) to her. She’s fiercely loyal, she has a strong sense of justice, she has a keen sense of empathy, and she has more feelings than she really knows what to do with. She doesn’t see her own value that much though. Only when befriending this group in Florida does she get the appreciation she truly deserves. And that kind of story will always be keenly relevant to me. I can’t help but feel all the feels, and yes, I had tears in my eyes.

Friendship is awesome. If you need a good friendship story, this is probably one of the best ones I can recommend. It’s comforting in that even though Sloan is almost done with school, and she’s moved – become the new kid at the last second – she still finds amazing people who like and accept her, actually more so than any of her friends before then. Are you tired of the bitchy best friend trope? Here. Vera is an AMAZING friend. Like, legit amazing. She’s a social media celebrity almost, but she’s so down-to-earth, likable, and nice. Her brother is ah-may-zing, but we’ll get to that. And the group as a whole just has a great dynamic, great banter, and awesome parties. There is a bit of admittedly predictable drama, but the story is overwhelmingly a happy one.

Fandom in a book. Sloan’s father is a force to be reckoned with. He’s a best-selling author (basically a fictional Nicholas Sparks) who’s in a writing rut. Then he discovers a teenage werewolves TV series, and he gets sucked into fandom. There are so many fun references and geeky moments. Honestly, Sloan and her dad have such a wonderful relationship – even though her family is in a rocky place. They have such awesome goofy, geeky moments that just made me even happier.

This ship is amazing. It’s a slow slow burn, so you’ve been warned. But the flip side is that you’ll easily get so addicted to the whole story, that you’ll breeze through the book and get to the feels in no time. I had those feels. Seriously. Mills hit all the right notes for me. There was attraction, banter, denial, nervousness, but above all a deep level of caring for each other. It made my heart soar.

Summing Up:

This Adventure Ends is absolutely lovely, adorable, introspective, and heartfelt. Sloan is a realistic and relatable character that I instantly connected with and felt validated through. And this story had it all: friendship adventures, personal growth, and a wonderful romance. The second I finished this book, I went to my computer and pre-ordered it. That’s just about the biggest ringing endorsement I can give. This one’s a keeper. One I will definitely read more often.

GIF it to me straight!

Recommended To:

Fans of Morgan Matson, Emery Lord, and Kasie West.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Divider

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge